June 29, 2022 | Spotlight

Institute of Government trains more than 800 local leaders at convention

Institute of Government trains more than 800 local leaders at convention

Writer: Staff Reports

Municipal leaders from across the state gained a deeper understanding of effective local governance through continuing education courses that Institute of Government faculty and other experts presented at the Georgia Municipal Association’s 2022 Annual Convention. GMA and the Institute partnered to offer more than 40 courses for mayors, council members, city managers and others through the Municipal Training Institute professional development program. Close to 70 municipal leaders earned certificates honoring their commitment to continuing education, including seven who earned Certificates of Dedication for completing 276 hours of instruction in the Municipal Training Institute. Nearly 1,500 people registered for the conference, held June 24-28 at the Savannah International Trade & Convention Center, with more than 800 registered for education courses led by the Institute of Government. In addition to training, the conference featured presentations by expert panels on topics such as community development, natural resources, public safety and finance.


Congratulations to the following city officials who have shown dedication to continuing education and lifelong learning.

Certificate of Dedication (276 Hours)

  • Michael E. Dodd, Forsyth
  • Micheal Evans, Centerville
  • Robert Gwaltney, Cairo
  • Kenneth R. Lee, Rincon
  • Robert Leverson, Fitzgerald Water, Light and Bond Commission
  • Nathan Little, Monroe
  • Vicky Nelson, Hinesville

Certificate of Distinction (204 Hours)

  • Shirlene Armstrong, Jesup
  • Juanita Bryant, Fort Valley
  • Michael Chidester, Byron
  • Jessica Payton, Cedartown
  • Rashida Taylor, Metter
  • Sandra Vincent, McDonough

Certificate of Excellence (120 Hours)

  • Shirlene P. Armstrong, Jesup
  • Demario Byrden, Cairo
  • Ray Denmon, Calhoun
  • Ronald G. Larson, Dahlonega
  • Richard Lassiter, Jr., Garden City
  • Sandra Leverette, Austell
  • Terry S. Miller, Douglasville
  • Richard J. Mohrig, Milton
  • Natalyn Morris, Garden City
  • John A. Ramay, Hazlehurst
  • Janie Reid, Eatonton
  • Scott Stacy, Fayetteville
  • Sundai Stevenson, Rome
  • Truman L. Tinsley III, Griffin
  • Annie Williams, Jeffersonville
  • Charles Williams, Jeffersonville

Certificate of Achievement (72 Hours)

  • Gary Ates, Cochran
  • Jule Bady, Jr., Twin City
  • Yolanda Barber, Stockbridge
  • Amy Barrett, Hiawasee
  • Lynn Deutsch, Dunwoody
  • Santina Fryer, Baxley
  • Carlos D. Greer, Locust Grove
  • Ora Hall, Baxley
  • Autron Hayes, Sylvester
  • Robert Jones, Perry
  • Eric Joyce, Madison
  • Keith Lauritsen, Warner Robins
  • Bianca Motley Broom, College Park
  • Laurence Pettiford, Suwanee
  • Rod Shearouse, Locust Grove
  • Ceretta Smith, Grovetown
  • Tim Turner, Barnesville
  • Sebrina Williams, Eastman

Certificate of Recognition (42 Hours)

  • Leah Alls, Dallas
  • Ryan Arnold, Hinesville
  • Mark Barber, Valdosta
  • Sandra Braswell, Davisboro
  • Paulette Chavers, Statesboro
  • Mark Cochran, Rome
  • Carla Coley, Cochran
  • Corey Jordan, Ashburn
  • Bridgette Kelly, Walthourville
  • Micah King, Glennville
  • Nycole Miller, Douglasville
  • Brian K. Mock, Chamblee
  • Nancy Noblet, Hiawassee
  • Nick Palumbo, Savannah
  • Joy Peterson, Perry
  • Kurtis Purtee, Savannah
  • Terry Scott, Thomasville
  • Brandon Sikes, Metter
  • James Wascher, Commerce
  • Tod Warner, Snellville
  • Jim Watters, Carrollton
  • Raquel Wright, Screven