June 27, 2017 | Spotlight

City leaders build skills through Institute training at GMA convention

City leaders build skills through Institute training at GMA convention

Writer: Roger Nielsen

Municipal leaders from hundreds of cities across the state explored critical public service topics through continuing education courses that Institute of Government faculty and other experts delivered at the 2017 Georgia Municipal Association Annual Convention.

The conference, held June 23–27 at the Savannah International Trade and Convention Center, featured 45 classes with approximately 2,400 participants covering best practices in local government. Institute faculty and trainers taught classes on topics ranging from policy development to effective customer service.

In addition, a series of policy committee meetings enabled city leaders to learn about the latest developments in critical issues such as public safety and transportation from legislators, state department heads and other experts.

Municipal officials who attended courses offered at the convention had the opportunity to fulfill certification requirements through the Harold F. Holtz Municipal Training Institute that GMA offers in partnership with the Institute of Government. During the convention, nearly 100 municipal leaders were recognized at GMA’s annual business meeting for their commitment to continuing education. Honorees included the first 10 recipients of the new Certificate of Dedication awarded in recognition of completing 276 hours of training.

Stacy Jones, interim director of the Institute of Government, said the Institute is proud to partner with GMA to make the expanded training opportunity available. “The dedication shown by these 10 public servants from across the state to enhance their skills and knowledge of municipal governance is remarkable. Their commitment to education means they are bringing back tools, insights, knowledge, resources, and networks to strengthen their cities,” Jones said.

The opening session featured the traditional parade of city flags.

The Georgia Municipal Clerks and Finance Officers Association’s annual conference was held the same weekend, also at the Savannah International Trade and Convention Center. The conference included eight professional development courses. Instructors included Institute faculty and adjunct faculty.

2017 Certificate Recipients

Certificate of Dedication (276 hours)

Wayne Adcock, Monroe
David L. Austin, Toccoa
Edward Bond, Donalsonville
Philip Goldstein, Marietta
Clifford Holmes, Warner Robins
Jason Holt, Fitzgerald
Keith Jenkins, Hinesville
Melvin A. Lawrence, Forsyth
Buddy Pittman, Eastman
Hawnethia Williams, Covington

Certificate of Distinction (204 Hours)

Cameron Andrews, Centerville
Troy Colquitt, Elberton
Cornell L. Harvey, Brunswick
Rick Roberts, Ball Ground
Randall Walker, Perry
Cynthia Reid Ward, Griffin
Henry Watts, Sandersville

Certificate of Excellence (120 hours)

Clark Boddie, Palmetto
Nikki L. Bradley, Quitman
Matthew Thomas Kunz, Milton
Bernita Lewis, Alma
Audrey Turner, Alto

Certificate of Achievement (72 hours)

Elton Alexander, Stockbridge
Jan Bass, Richmond Hill
John Blount, Stockbridge
Ben Bradford, LaFayette
Rufus Davis, Camilla
Matt Donaldson, Twin City
Curtis Edwards, Jr., Dublin
Patti M. Garrett, Decatur
Chris M. Hewett, Forsyth
Beth Hilscher, Suwanee
John Hughes, Alma
Charles Ivey, Montezuma
Debbie Johnson, Port Wentworth
Linnea Miller, Suwanee
Rick Mohrig, Milton
Dean Moore, Clarkston
Vicky Nelson, Hinesville
Kay Pippin, Jackson
Walter Reynolds, Milledgeville
Christi Ricker, Rincon
Neat Robinson, Stockbridge
Don Sims, Thomasville
Victor Stacy, Fayetteville
Theresa Deisha Strickland, Hogansville
Randy Toms, Warner Robins

Certificate of Recognition (42 hours)

Rusty Adams, Byron
Edward Armijo, Centerville
Shirlene Armstrong, Jesup
Carolyn H. Bell, Savannah
Kathaleen Brewer, Fayetteville
David Brock, Griffin
LeMario Brown, Fort Valley
Sedric Carithers, Ashburn
Elizabeth Chapman, Clayton
Kregg Close, Bainbridge
Jerry L. Cox, Cairo
Myoshia Crawford, Monroe
Kenneth Davis, Hahira
Lynn Deutsch, Dunwoody
Alan C. Dorsey, Byron
Eileen Dudley, Twin City
Larry Ethridge, Waycross
Vincent Evans, Lula
Sean Frantom, Augusta
Tyree Goodlett, Dalton
Bill Harvey, Jesup
Ben Hasan, Augusta
Evan Hellenga, Toccoa
Nancy Hudson, Powder Springs
Douglas W. Jewell, Grantville
Michelle Cooper Kelly, Marietta
Marvin King, Arlington
John Knox, Waycross
Ron Larson, Dahlonega
Keith Lauritsen, Warner Robins
Jan Moore, Statesboro
Robert G. Morgan, Orchard Hill
Douglas F. Odom, Bluffton
Jacqueline Palazzolo, Calhoun
Keith Pendergrass, Pine Mountain
Benjamin W. Pruett, McDonough
Diana F. Reid, Hinesville
Becky Richardson, Braselton
Vesta Shephard, Cordele
Harlan Shirley, Fayetteville
Dennis Shoaf, Cave Spring
Sammie Sias, Augusta
Sundai Stevenson, Rome
Dr. Ahmad Thorpe, McIntyre
Kim Tice, Garden City
Chris Watts, Douglasville