More than 100 local government professionals recently completed the Certified Public Manager® (CPM) program through the University of Georgia Carl Vinson Institute of Government.

The 2023-2024 class of 117 participants were divided into five cohorts. They represent local governments and public agencies throughout Georgia, as well as one each from Florida and Virginia.

The CPM program is an accredited member of the National CPM Consortium and is designed to improve the quality and efficiency of government agencies by developing managers’ effectiveness and professionalism.

The intensive 300-hour CPM program takes place from September to May with monthly three-day sessions at either the UGA Gwinnett campus in Lawrenceville or the Georgia Public Safety Training Center in Forsyth. Participants learn about themselves and their organizations, as well as how to lead and manage more effectively. Upon completion of coursework and capstone projects, participants receive a Public Manager Certificate from UGA and are recognized at the annual CPM Conference, held in Athens each May.

Henry County Manager Cheri Hobson-Matthews graduated from the program this year.

“Being a part of the CPM program and an amazing cohort of critical thinkers, listeners and all around great leaders provided me with tools, resources and networking opportunities. We shared a common goal to enhance and build upon our leadership skills as managers, regardless of where we fall on the ladder of decision makers,” she said.  “I learned that it is so much easier to listen to understand versus listening to respond.”

2024 CPM Graduates

Terrence Abrams, City of South Fulton

Corey Adams, Sr., City of South Fulton

Emmanuel Adediran, City of College Park

Okezie Amalaha, Fulton County

Gary Andrews, City of Lawrenceville

James Arwood, City of Jefferson Police Department

Ryan Avery, Fulton County

Jeffery Baker, City of Morrow

Christopher Bass, City of Douglasville

Ellen Baxter, Fulton County

Tadesse Berhe, Fulton County

Misty Botu, Fulton County District Attorney’s Office

Ricky Bourne, Alleghany County, Va.

Monica Bradshaw, DeKalb County Public Health

John Braswell, Jr., Georgia Public Safety Training Center

Rodney Brimlow, City of Deerfield Beach, Fla.

Julie Brown, City of Fayetteville

Beth Cantrell, Heard County Water Authority

D. Lynn Carter, City of Senoia

Stephanie Chandler, Early County

Edwina Charles, State Board of Workers’ Compensation

Vincent Clark, Fulton County

Zenobia Claxton, Fulton County

Andrew Collins, City of Savannah

Ramona Condell, Fulton County

Carditta Cook, Fulton County

Jamila Criss, City of Fairburn

Sekayi Curtis, Fulton County

RuShondra Davenport, Fulton County District Attorney’s Office

James Davidson, City of Douglasville

Nigel Davis, Fulton County 

Kelli Edwards, Fulton County

Remy Epps, Unified Government of Athens-Clarke County

William Fallon, Glynn County

Vincent Faucette, Fulton District Attorney’s Office

Rhonda Fletcher, Georgia Vocational Rehabilitation Agency

Tashekka Fleming, Fulton County

Kiani Flores, Fulton County

Danny Garner, City of Covington

Monica Gibbs, Fulton County

Paula Granger, Seminole County Board of Commissioners

J. Curtis Hindman, City of Senoia

Valencia Holland, Fulton County

Cheri Hobson-Matthews, Henry County

Jacqueline Howell, City of South Fulton

Elizabeth Humphreys, City of Doraville

Ronelle Hunter, Fulton County

Alvin Jeffreys, Fulton County

Brad Johnson, Butts County

Kelvin Joiner, City of Fayetteville

Mickisha Jones, Cobb County Sheriff’s Office

Jason Jonestock, Fulton County

Stephanie Johnson, Effingham County

Keith King, Gordon County

Julian Knight, Jr., Thomas County

Chris LaFleur, City of Doraville

Jessica Lavender, Fulton County

Natary Lee, Fulton County

Juandalynn Leverette, City of South Fulton

Robyn Lim, Fulton County

Tynesha Manuel, Georgia Statewide Business Court

Robin Mason, Fulton County

Reginald McClendon, City of South Fulton

Ike McConnell, Georgia Public Safety Training Center

Marcy Meyers, Fulton County

Mark Musselwhite, City of Demorest

Bosun Oshikoya, Fulton County

Willie Perryman, Fulton County

Samuel Phillips, Jr., Fulton County

Lydia Popoola, Fulton County

Shameka Porter, Fulton County

Shawanna Qawiy, City of Stonecrest

Deidra Queen, Fulton County

Stacey Raynor, Cobb County Sheriff’s Office

Patricia Redfern, City of South Fulton

Sylvia Redic, Spalding County

Veronica Reed, Fulton County

William Reed, City of Rincon

Cajen Rhodes, City of Fayetteville

Angela Richardson-Bryant, Fulton County

William Robbins, City of Chamblee

David Robinson, Lumpkin County

Ward Robinson, City of Lake City

Bert Rosenberger, Jones County

LaQuona Sanderson, City of Augusta

LaThaydra Sands, City of Monticello

Vickie Short, Barrow County Board of Commissioners

Angela Sims, Fulton County

Tameca Smith, Fayette County

Prenzinna Spann, Atlanta Police Department

Christopher Sperry, Fulton County District Attorney’s Office

Brandon Stark, Jones County Board of Commissioners

Gwendolyn Steele-Willis, Fulton County

Allyson Stephens, Meriwether County Board of Commissioners

Jeff Stinson, Fulton County 

Tracy Strange, Wilkinson County Board of Commissioners

Namarr Strickland, Sr., City of South Fulton

Patrick Swanson, City of South Fulton

Andrea Taylor, Walton County Board of Commissioners

Andre Thomas, Rockdale County

Marcus Thompson, Jr., City of Douglasville

Duane Tolson, Fulton County

Phillip Trocquet, Town of Tyrone

Denetra Truitt-Echols, Fulton County

Carlos Turner, State Board of Pardons and Paroles

Vikki Walters, Fulton County

Pamela Walters-Bryant, Fulton County Juvenile Court

Sierra Walton-Harvey, City of Americus

Charmaine White, Fulton County

Donald White, Jones County Board of Commissioners

Charles Williams, Jr., City of St. Marys

Meikoe Williams, Fulton County

Randy Williams, Decatur County

Shawn Wood, Jones County

TrayShawn Wright, Fulton County

Ashley Youmans, City of Smyrna

Charity Zackery, Fulton County